Flag of Falkland Islands

Flag of Falkland Islands
Country Falkland Islands
Population 2,840 (2012)
Area (Km²) 12,173
Сontinent South America
Emoji 🇫🇰
  hex rgb
#012169 1, 33, 105
#FFFFFF 255, 255, 255
#C8102E 200, 16, 46
#2a7fff 42, 127, 255
#e2a950 226, 169, 80
#3d6c1e 61, 108, 30

The flag of the Falkland Islands is a blue background with two elements: the British flag in the canton and the coat of arms of the islands on the right side of the flag. The flag itself was adopted on January 25, 1999, and the coat of arms on September 29, 1948.

The coat of arms of the Falkland Islands consists of:

The coat of arms of the Falkland Islands

  • A ship called "Desire", representing the vessel on which British Captain John Davies supposedly discovered the Falkland Islands in 1592;
  • The colony's motto, "Desire the Right," placed at the bottom emphasizes the desire for truth and justice, and also refers to the ship's name;
  • The white ram symbolizes sheep farming, which used to be the main economic activity on the islands.

The first coat of arms of the islands was created in 1829. It featured an image of a Phrygian cap or "Liberty Cap" in the center, a sun, branches, and the inscription "Comandancia de Malvinas y Adyacentes" that encompasses the coat of arms in a circle. After the invasion in 1833, the royal coat of arms was used until the British government granted the islands a seal in 1876, consisting of the image of the ship that brought the first British settlers to the San Carlos Strait and cattle near it. On October 16, 1925, a new emblem of the islands was introduced, divided diagonally, with the image of the ship Desire on a blue background, which was used in the first version of the coat of arms, and a sea lion on a golden background in the other half of the shield, as well as the islands' motto "Desire the Right". It was replaced by the current coat of arms on September 29, 1948.

The evolution of the Falkland Islands coat of arms

Brief information about the Falkland Islands

The Falkland Islands are a group of more than 200 islands in the South Atlantic Ocean that are part of the British Overseas Territory. The main island is Great Falkland. In 1982, there was a military conflict between the United Kingdom and Argentina, as a result of which the United Kingdom retained control of the islands.

Therefore, it is a territory with British traditions and culture, which is reflected in the language, architecture, and everyday life of the locals. The islands are a real paradise for nature lovers and those who enjoy picturesque landscapes. Here you can find large colonies of seabirds, including albatrosses and penguins, as well as marine mammals that can often be seen on the shores or in the ocean, such as seals and sea lions. The natural landscapes consist of vast hills, beautiful beaches and picturesque bays, creating ideal conditions for outdoor activities, unforgettable experiences and beautiful photos.

The islands also have a rich history. They were the scene of a short but brutal military conflict between the United Kingdom and Argentina in 1982. For those interested in history, there are various museums and monuments on the islands that tell about this conflict and the history of the islands.

Local culture and traditions will also be of interest to many visitors. The locals are happy to receive visitors and are ready to share their culture, language, and cuisine.