Flags of North America

North America is the third largest continent on Earth, located in the northern hemisphere. It covers a vast territory from the Arctic in the north to the Gulf of Mexico and the Caribbean Sea in the southwest and from the Pacific Ocean in the west to the Atlantic Ocean in the east. The continent is one of the most developed in the world with the most diverse economies. The United States and Canada are known for their large industrial base, and the Central American region has a significant agricultural sector. Mexico is the largest country in Latin America on the North Continent, known for its history, cuisine, archaeological sites such as the Teotihuacan and Chichen Itza pyramids, and beautiful beaches. Cuba, an island country in the Caribbean Sea, is known for its history, culture, music (especially salsa) and colorful cities such as Havana. Jamaica is known for its music (reggae), beautiful beaches and tourist areas. Haiti is located on the same island as the Dominican Republic, which is famous for its resorts, beaches, and historical sites. These are just a few examples of North American countries. Each country has its own unique history, culture, traditions, and natural resources.

In total, there are 23 independent countries and 17 dependent territories on the North American continent, including 3 dependent on the United States, 6 on the United Kingdom, 3 on the Netherlands, 4 on France, and one on Denmark. On this page you can learn more about all these 40 countries of North America, including the meaning of the flag and its colors, the history of its creation and its evolution over time, as well as interesting facts about the flag.