Flags of South America

South America is a continent located in the western hemisphere to the south of North America, separated from it by the Panama Canal. It is washed by the waters of the Pacific and Atlantic Oceans. The continent consists of twelve independent states and two dependent territories. The area of South America is almost 18 million square kilometers with a population of more than 430 million people registered for 2022. The largest countries on the continent are Brazil, Colombia, Argentina, Peru, Venezuela, and Chile (in descending order). Brazil, with an area of 8,358,140 square kilometers and a population of 216 million people as of 2023, is the largest country in South America and the eighth most populous in the world. 
Some interesting facts about South America: the highest point is Aconcagua (Argentina) at almost 7 km (6961 meters / 22837 feet), São Paulo is the most populated city in Brazil and the 20th largest city in the world by population with 12,400,230 as of 2020, the Amazon is the longest river in the world and the most abundant, It is 6400 km long and has a basin area of more than 7 million square kilometers; the Parana River in Paraguay is home to the world's third largest hydroelectric power plant after two in China.

This page contains all the flags of the countries that make up South America. There are 12 independent territories, as well as 2 territories controlled by the United Kingdom - South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Falkland Islands. Thus, this page contains information about 14 flags of South America.