Flags of European countries

Europe is a continent in northern Eurasia, bounded on the west by the Atlantic Ocean, on the north by the Arctic Ocean, on the east by the Ural Mountains and the Ural River, and on the south by the Mediterranean Sea. This continent has a long history, rich in culture, and includes a variety of nations, languages, traditions, and ethnic groups. The total area of Europe is 10,532,000 km². Europe is defined not only by its geographical boundaries, but also by the political, economic, and cultural ties between its countries. The European Union (EU), for example, is a political and economic union of countries that creates a common economic area and promotes cooperation in various fields such as security, science, and culture.

This page contains all the flags of countries that are part of Europe in whole or in part. There are 12 countries from Western Europe, 9 from Eastern Europe, 8 flags from Northern Europe, and 14 flags from Southern Europe. There are also flags of countries that are partially part of Europe - Russia, Turkey, Cyprus, and Kosovo. Why partially? Russia has 22% of its territory in Europe, while only 4% of Turkey's territory is in Europe. Kosovo is a partially recognized state, and only the northern part of the island of Cyprus is a member of the EU. And this list is complemented by dependent territories in Europe. For example, 5 territories are dependent on the UK: Guernsey, Gibraltar, Jersey, the Isle of Man, as well as Akrotiri and Dekelia. The latter have an absolutely identical flag to the flag of the United Kingdom, i.e. the Union Jack. The Åland Islands are dependent on Finland, the Faroe Islands on Denmark, and the Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands on Norway and, as with Union Jack and Akrotiri and Dechelia, have the same flag as Norway. Thus, this page contains information about 55 flags of European countries.